Kuno’s obsession

September 29, 2010

Everybody knows someone who at one time or another has gotten obsessed with another person, or place or thing. Sometimes, that obsession lasts a lifetime and causes problems, as in the case of alcoholics, gamblers, gluttons and the like. The obsession takes over the person’s mind and it is like nothing else matters in the world, except satisfying that urge.

My buddy, Kuno has such an obsession. He does not to my knowledge drink alcohol,  gamble or eat to excess. He is however very single-minded when it comes to attacking spraying water.

It must be like an alcoholic passing a bar where there is a two for one special going on, when Kuno sees water shooting out of a hose.  I have seen him race at full gallop, thirty miles an hour to an irrigation sprayer in the backyard.  He reaches it in just a few seconds and immediately begins trying to bite the rushing water. With those 42 magnificent teeth chopping and those powerful jaws snapping, I fear for the poor water’s well-being. If  he does not get it fast enough, he begins to dig at the source until he has uncovered the irrigation line.

In order to get him out of that obsessive red place he is in, I switch the water to a different irrigation zone. He then races to the new active sprayer and begins his attack again.  It has become quite a game which he will do all day long.

What do they say, “One drink is too many, a thousand is not enough”.

Last night he brought the game indoors.

When I  clean out the bathtub I usually let him bite the water from the hand-held shower wand, and he likes that. For some reason last night, the wand was still in its holder when I turned on the water, Kuno thought it was time to play “bite the water” He reached over and tried to tear into that shower spray, but I was in the way, so he missed and bit the wand in two!

“Kuno”, I yelled ” What are you doing?”

I made him sit while I inspected the damage.

“Now, look what you have done, we need a new shower fixture”, I admonished him.

Then, as I was removing the remnant piece, the hose slipped from my fingers and fell down the hole between the tub and the tile wall.

“Great Kuno, now what are we going to do?”

Donna watching the circus in amusement, offered, ” We have to open up the access panel and rethread that hose.”

Kuno looked at me sadly. His eyes said, ” Sorry boss”.

“Nevermind”, I told him as I opened the access panel and retrieved the hose. “Lets go to the hardware store and see if they have the part.”

They did not have it, so Donna ordered it online.

Well, the cost is just coming out of Kuno’s pocket,  along with the enrollment fee for his 12 step program.

……………………………….

Kuno in his timeout.

3 Responses to “Kuno’s obsession”

  1. donna Says:

    He’s a one man (dog) demolition crew!

  2. Thomas Says:

    I think he just wanted a ride in the car and a trip to the store.

  3. donna Says:

    hahaha, that could be true, Kuno does love his field trips.


Leave a comment